First Day at School

image

I should be excited to go and educate little people. Today is the first day back at school and I’ve been dreading it. I’m sure it’ll be fine once I get there. I’ve become rather accustomed to working on myself this summer and having me time, rather than spending my life improving the lives of others, while being deeply dissatisfied with myself and my life.

Don’t get me wrong, I love kids. I used to love my job. I’m not someone who lacks compassion and empathy, I used to have it in sheer abundance.  The thing is,  I work with kids with disabilities and mental health difficulties as well as those labelled “vulnerable”. I graduated a few years ago and  have worked really really hard, always going the extra mile in any way I can. I threw myself head first into my career and put the rest of my life on-hold. All of my compassion and empathy seems to have run out. I gave it all away and as I continued to give more, I never topped it up. I neglected me.

Now I am fatigued. A bit burnt-out and I wish I hadn’t neglected me so much.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/educate/

7 thoughts on “First Day at School

  1. I love your post. It’s understandable to be fatigued especially in a job as challenging and rewarding as yours. My sister is a teacher for middle schoolers and she has been having the same difficulties going back to school as you are. Teachers really don’t get enough credit for all of the work they do in and out of school.

    Like

  2. You make a great point that you, and many of us, missed the opportunity to “feed” yourself when your empathy and compassion ran low. What can you do now to regain it?
    One thing I’ve starting doing is writing down a goal and making a list of activities to reach that goal that take me only five minutes to complete. I call it the “Five-Minute Miracle” technique. For you, maybe you have ten activities on your list and you commit to doing three of the ten every day. Things like five-minutes to drink an uninterrupted cup of coffee or tea. Or a five-minute walk around the grounds at your school. Or whatever it might be. Then give yourself a huge high-five for completing just fifteen-minutes of good-for-you activities that felt good for your soul.
    Anyway–I don’t know if that helps at all. But, I hope you know more than anything that you matter, and your work matters, and the kids who’s lives you touch every day may not have the words to say Thank You, but we in the community sure do. So THANK YOU.

    Like

  3. Thank you for teaching! When my son was younger, I prayer each day for the teaches, instructors, professors for passing along knowledge he needed or didn’t need at that time, but became helpful in his future.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

