When Family Hurts: A Tailored Love

image

Having a family member with a serious addiction poses serious dilemmas as far as navigating a relationship goes. I’ve had to tailor my love for my mother to work for her and me so that there is as little pain as possible

Being close to you hurts, so I will love you from a distant place.

You tell me you’ve given up drinking, I find alcohol hidden around the house. The lies hurt me and make me frustrated, so I decide I cannot visit your home any longer. I will love you from a distant place.

You tell me you only started drinking when I was a teenager. I tell you I have so many traumatic memories of your addiction when I was a child. You tell me I imagined it, I’m crazy, I need counseling. I decide I can no longer talk to you about the past or my childhood. I will love you from a distant place.

When I talk to you on the phone, you threaten suicide if I don’t do what you want. You have me in tears. I decide I can’t speak on the phone to you any longer. I will love you from a distant place.

I still care, I still wonder how you are. It just hurts too much to have you involved in my life properly. Your addiction has given me no choice. For my own happiness, I will love you from a distant place.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/tailor/

7 thoughts on “When Family Hurts: A Tailored Love

  1. “I will love you from a distant place.” This is a tough decision to make but when interactions with loved ones become too painful it is sometimes best to love them from a distant place. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. I loved your piece, it speaks of thousands of emotions, it’s poignant and expressive. I could feel all the pain and suffering of abandoning your loved ones and the painful realization of that, that’s all there is to do now.

    Like

  3. That was…. inspiring. You have an incredibly healthy mindset for such traumatic events to have happened in your life and you writing about it shows how you want to pass this knowledge into others

    Like

Leave a Reply

