I Don’t Want to be Bitter

I don’t want to be bitter. I don’t want to be resentful. I don’t want to be angry.

Ever since I began my healing process from trauma, I have felt all of these feelings I don’t want to feel. Some say it is grief for a safe childhood that I never had. I wonder how long grief takes? How long will memories pop into my mind on a daily basis? Will these memories always make me feel this angry and betrayed?

I know the bitterness and anger I’m feeling is not good for me, but not matter how hard I try to fight it, the strong feeling remains.

I sit with it, waiting for it to pass, telling myself healing takes time.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/bitter/

5 thoughts on “I Don’t Want to be Bitter

  1. Bitterness, resentment and anger are all emotions I’m too familiar with. It does take time to heal those wounds and time to control those memories that flood your mind from time to time taking you back to a time in your life you wish you could forget.

    I found that forgiving those persons who hurt me helped the process. It was not easy but once I did I started feeling better and my memories did not control how I felt anymore. Unforgiveness kept me stuck in that chapter of my life and it prevented me from moving forward.

    Best wishes to you on this journey. I pray that you overcome those obstacles and find happiness because you deserve it!

    Like

  2. You are definitely not alone in this. The only advice I can give is try to forgive the people that hurt you and even yourself. It’s not easy and they definitely don’t deserve it but for your own sanity. Also forgiveness takes time and it is so painful to let go, what matters is that you take the step. I’m definitely following!

    Like

Leave a Reply

