The Pause Button Gives us a New Perspective

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/pause/

At twenty-five years old, after growing up the eldest daughter of two alcoholics, I thought I had it all together. I was newly engaged, had a great job, a nice flat and everything was on track.

The problem was I began to experience trauma from my childhood. The other problem was, I realised I was completely codependent with my parents and their drinking. I felt burntout. I hit a wall. I wanted to change my situation but I was so overwhelmed, I didn’t know how. I ended up at the doctor’s, because I was so fatigued and anxious. The doctor told me I needed a break from my life, he told me to slow down or even press pause.

I completely freaked out at that suggestion. What did “press pause” mean?! Was I suppose to quit my job? Call off my engagement to an amazing guy? Cut my parents off?

My fiance is a genuis. He had a great idea. We had always wanted to travel, so he suggested we both resign from our high paying but very stressful jobs and go on an adventure, with our savings. We traveled Asia, and then ended up in Europe. We were on the other side of the world to my parents.

We had pressed pause on our old lives and in that beautiful nomad time away, I gained some perspective. I realised what I needed to change about myself and accepted what I couldn’t change about my parents. I began to work on my trauma. I began to feel more relaxed and happy.

I’m forever grateful to my supportive fiance who suggested we press pause.

11 thoughts on “The Pause Button Gives us a New Perspective

  1. Sometimes a little pause brings a great change…you are lucky to have such a wonderful person in your life who gave a new wings to your life. Forget the painful memories of your life and enjoy your present…..be happy always

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A pause is needed sometimes. After being stubborn for many years and refusing to even cut down on crazy working hours and studying and a stressful life in general I finally gave in and decided to come home. Now I’m finally taking care of me and trying to cure my longtime, severe depression. Two weeks and I already feel better. It was the best decision I’ve ever made!!
    xx
    http://pinkfordays.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I definitely wish I could hit the pause button in my life sometimes, but there’s always just too much going on. Plus it’s risky! Kudos to you for doing it. Maybe I should finally try it, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

