That Critical Voice

After growing up in adverse circumstances, there’s many things I’m working on, with regards to myself.

One of them is getting rid of my inner voice that criticizes me for everything. That inner voice, is the voice of my parents. When they were drunk when I was a child, (which was a daily occurrence), they would sit and criticize basically everyone we knew. She’s fat , he’s selfish, she’s boring etc etc. I have grown up assuming everyone is judging me, all of the time. I think to myself “that person must think I’m fat , boring, selfish” etc.

Changing one’s whole inner dialogue is more difficult than I thought it would be. I realised I don’t even know how to speak positively to myself. I don’t even know how to have an expectation that others think positively about me.

I’m hoping I’ll find some strategies soon, but for now, it’s great getting this struggle off my chest and down on paper (or on WordPress 😉).

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/criticize/

8 thoughts on “That Critical Voice

  1. My parents were the same way plus drugs so I know where you are coming from. I tell everyone that I have learned what not to do when I became an adult from my parents. And, that came true. Somehow, and I don’t have a clue how, I got through that part of my life without letting them bring me down. Trust me, it was not easy at all. I remember the nights I would cry myself to sleep or go to bed at 6pm so I didnt have to deal with them. Be strong, you can do this! -Bruce

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hearing the negative was a pattern you “ingested”. Create a new pattern…You hear your inner critic. Tell her thanks. And then give yourself a positive thought. Tell her thanks. That’s your new pattern. You decide you believe the positive thought. I’m working on a struggle like this between my intuition and conventioanal thoughts. I check in with both, take a response from both, and follow my intuition. When I forget….I forget…and start again. https://unbreakablejoy.wordpress.com/ My blog. Has stories about this new pattern I’m creating….:>

    Like

Leave a Reply

