Leaving People Pleasing in 2016

image

In 2016,  a lot happened. A wise blogger inspired me to reflect on 2016 and in doing so, I was able to make a list of all I achieved. I also made a list of things that held me back, one of them was people pleasing.

People pleasing has been a huge issue for me my whole life. I realised my identity and interests change depending on who I’m talking to. How ridiculous. I’m so busy trying to be who people think I want to be all the time and unfortunately this comes at a cost. I become resentful that no one knows the real me and that I compromise so much in my relationships.

So I’m ending 2016, how I hope to spend 2017; being true to myself. I’m spending NYE in a hotel room with my fiance watching rubbish TV and eating takeaways because that’s what I want to do. I’m not gonna go and party just so I can tell everyone that I was a “normal” 25 year old on NYE because I think that’s what they want to hear. I’m being unapologetically myself.

Daily prompt: year

3 thoughts on “Leaving People Pleasing in 2016

  1. Pingback: The Nudge Wink Report – Chinese New Year 2017 Edition – Horoscopes For All | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

