My Christmas Wish

image

My Christmas wish is to master the art of being able to relax.

This is my first Christmas without family, something many people would be dreading. For me it’s a celebration, the first Christmas without my alcoholic parents.

This Christmas I don’t have to spend the day being anxious my Mum and Dad will drink too much in front of extended family. This Christmas I don’t have to plan tactfully how I water their drinks down without anyone noticing. This Christmas I don’t have to create a disturbance or move the attention when I notice my drunk parents getting riled up and are seconds away from confronting a relative about something that happened 20 years ago.

This Christmas, is my first stress free Christmas.  Im on the other side of the world with my fiance. I’m going to relax. I’m going to overcome my anxiety of Christmas. I’m going to practice having a “good Christmas” so that; when I have children one day I can be relaxed and enjoy it. I’m breaking the cycle and it starts with me.Daily prompt: relax

3 thoughts on “My Christmas Wish

Leave a Reply

