Emotional Regulation

image

Emotional regulation is how you respond emotionally to situations and how you deal with your emotions.

Where do you learn emotional regulation? Emotional regulation is learnt from your parents when you are young. What they do when they’re angry to move past that anger, what they do when they’re stressed, how they express their happiness.

Well what if both of your parents are alcoholics? They use alcohol to celebrate the joy in their life, to dispel the anger and relieve the stress as well as drown the sorrows. They have no emotional regulation skills. So where did I learn emotional regulation skills? Well it turns out, I didn’t.

I am moody. I struggle constantly to regulate my emotions.  I had an argument with my partner’s Mum over a month ago and I can’t move past it. I try really hard not to be angry, but I am. I struggle to react normally to circumstances I struggle with.

I’m going to have to learn how to regulate my emotions. How to not be so moody. The only way I was shown was turning to alcohol and that’s not an option. I’m breaking the cycle and it starts with me.

daily prompt

2 thoughts on “Emotional Regulation

Leave a Reply

