My Motivation

They say if you have one parent that was/is an addict, there is a 90% chance you will become an addict too, or enter a relationship with an addict.

This statistic does not look good for me, or many others who have; not one, but two parents who battle addiction. I don’t want to be another statistic, I’m dedicated to breaking the cycle.

Some days this is hard. Some days the trauma of growing up in an alcoholic home is hard to deal with. Some days I don’t feel as though I am coping and some days I feel like using substances to deal with it all. But I don’t. Why? Because of my treasures..

I’m breaking the cycle because of what I treasure:

I treasure my physical health

I treasure my emotional well-being

I treasure my future marriage to my fiance whom I’m not married to yet

I treasure my future children, whom are not yet born

I treasure my career as a social worker

I treasure my life

When I think of all the things I treasure, I have no trouble abstaining from substances; I’m breaking the cycle and it starts with me.

In response to today’s daily prompt “treasure”

6 thoughts on “My Motivation

Leave a Reply

